Going Native

Before my family and I moved to Massachusetts (from Texas) after only having ever lived in the South, someone offered this advice to me: “Just go native!” I love the sentiment, and I think I’ve taken it to heart. We’ve been here just over one year now, and, I’m glad to say New England feels more and more like “home” every day!

Here is my card for the week:

going native 01

I began with last week’s Freshly Made Sketch:

Image credit

I have been DYING to work with feathers. And it made since to incorporate them into a Native American theme, especially since I was going for a masculine look to the card. I actually made the arrow-patterned background stamp myself using a small sheet of craft foam and a ball point pen! Huzzah!

going native 02

I love this sketch, but I did not get my card made in time to enter the contest, as it was due Monday, and I began working *ahem* Sunday evening. At about 8:00 PM. But that’s o.k., because my father-in-law is going to be getting a totally awesome birthday card this week! (Happy 60th, Pop!)

Supplies used:
Paper – Recollections Cards & Envelopes, 5″x6.5″ in White. Recollections Cardstock in White, Brown, Light Turquoise, Dark Turquoise. Recollections Vellum.
Stamps – Stampendous! Happy Messages Perfectly Clear Stamps SSC109. Homemade arrow-patterned craft foam stamp.
Ink – Color Box in Frost White and Mudslide.
Silhouette Cameo/Shapes – Feathers Set.
Upcycled button, Jute twine, Fiskars paper trimmer, Tombow Permanent Adhesive Tape Runner, Zips Ultra Thin Permanent Clear Adhesive Lines, Scotch Pop-Up Foam Squares, Scotch Scrapbooker’s Glue with 2-Way Applicator, Aleene’s Original Tacky Glue.

Leave a Reply

