I’ve Got My Eye On You (or, My Tribute To Mike Wazowski)

This week I am getting into the Halloween spirit by doing – what else? – making a card, of course! I was inspired by the comical, little, one-eyed monster, Mike Wazowski, from the movie Monsters, Inc.  My son is a fan of the original movie, and, upon his squeezing of one the latest Mike toys during a recent shopping trip to Target, I heard the phrase, “I’ve got my eye on you,” sound out in that classic Billy Crystal voice. Cue me – laughing out loud – in the toy isle. And so, a thought was born, and I decided to make a card using this sentiment.

ivegotmyeye01

I found the cute monster shape at the online Silhouette store – little did I know it involved so many pieces! I simplified him a bit in order to match the desired color scheme, and I used a white gel pen to draw on his shoelaces.  I used the speech bubble from the heart in speech bubble shape for the sentiment, designed the text, and resized the shape using Silhouette Studio software and the Cameo’s print and cut feature.

ivegotmyeye02

I think this would make a great Halloween card for a kiddo – I will be giving it to my little boy, along with his treat bucket, come this October 31!

I am entering this week’s Freshly Made Sketches #108 and Dynamic Duos #75 contests.

Freshly Made Sketches #108

Dynamic Duos #75

Supplies used:
Paper – Recollections cardstock in light gray, dark gray, white, and black. Basic patterns 12×12″ paper pad from Michael’s. Recollections Paper Pad, 12″x12″ in The Neapolitan Collections.  Dollar bin scrapbook paper from Target.
Ink – Uniball Signo Pigment Ink Pen in White.
Cutting Tools – Silhouette Cameo, Fiskars paper trimmer, X-acto knife.
Shapes – Cute monster, heart in speech bubble.
Fonts – Lobster Two, Abadi MT Condensed Extra Bold.
Adhesive – Scotch Scrapbooker’s Glue with 2-Way Applicator, Tombow Permanent Adhesive Tape Runner.

6 thoughts on “I’ve Got My Eye On You (or, My Tribute To Mike Wazowski)

  1. Your card is very sweet; I love that little one-eyed guy 😀 Can you tell me what font you used for the sentiment? It works perfectly on this card! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

