Papercrafted Kid-Friendly Thanksgiving Centerpiece

I don’t know about your family, but if it’s there, (“it” being two flat screen tv’s for example,) my kid tends to break it. Therefore I keep all of my breakables up high, or I don’t display them. I never cease to be amazed at pleasant, family images of children playing calmly beside their parents, complete with loving looks, in a room full of expensive pottery, tchotchkes, flat-screen tv’s, etc. – all right down there at kid level (Better Homes and Gardens, I’m talking to you.) So, what’s a mom to do when she wants to have a festive Thanksgiving centerpiece but without all the danger?

Enter – my awesome kid-friendly version – that my kiddo helped me make!

turkey center 01

I used paper, felt, burlap, flameless candles and a few natural materials to create a durable centerpiece.  I made paper pumpkins by cutting 2-inch strips of cardstock and taping the ends together.  I free-handed some leaves and curled some leftover strips of cardstock with scissors to create the tops.

turkey center 02

I traced my son’s hand to create a good, old-fashioned paper turkey and glued it onto the side of a pinecone to act as a stand.

turkey center 03

I already had a burlap table runner and a felt leaf garland that I made a couple of years ago. My son added the finishing touch – a small gourd purchased at our local dairy farm.  Other than the glass candle holders, this is an unbreakable centerpiece that, miracle of miracles, my child has enjoyed looking at, but hasn’t bothered to touch!

turkey center 04

Here’s wishing you and yours a very happy Thanksgiving!

Supplied used:
Paper – Recollections Carstock from Spice Market collection.

Leave a Reply

