Happy BD Banner

This is the first Birthday card that I’ve made for the year. It is filled to the hilt with….Banners!

HappyBD02

I created the actual card out of banner-printed cardstock. I overlayed the top at an angle with some cloud-printed vellum. The bottom is lined with a little brown and white striped piece of card.

HappyBD01

For the banners….I laid out the text in Silhouette software. I initially tried cutting them out with the Silhouette using the print and cut feature, but dang if I can get the Recollections white cardstock to cut without tearing! I don’t know what it is about that white card, but it tears every time…it’s really quite frustrating.  So I reprinted. And measured. And cut. Out. By. Hand.  I know.  It’s incredible.  I used a sewing needle to punch holes in the tops of each little flag and then ran them through with taupe-colored thread.  Finally, I adhered the flags with foam tape squares to give them some pop.

HappyBDdetail

I am entering this card into PaperCrafts January Gallery Challenge contest.  TGIF, folks!

Supplies used:
Paper – Recollections Paper Pad, 12″x12″ in Neapolitan Inspiration. Recollections Cardstock in white.
Adhesive – Tombow Permanent Adhesive Tape Runner, Recollections Foam Adhesive Squares.
Silhouette Cameo (software only)
Font – KG Skinny Latte
Coats & Clark thread in taupe.

Leave a Reply

